Vivendi shareholders tackle Vincent Bolloré at the AGM

The extraordinary grip over all of his asset  by Vincent Bolloré was confirmed during the general meeting of Vivendi on 25 April by the adoption of all the resolutions, notably thanks to the double voting right and following very questionable threats against foreign shareholders made in 2015 by Vivendi…

A magician of language, a no-nonsense industrialist and a great financier, Bolloré never ceased to prove his talent. He might succeed at achieving what Jean-Marie Messier failed to s: the convergence of contents and carriers, the alliance between the creation and the media, and the appearance of a unique French media group facing the greatest Americans. With his disturbing but effective financial opportunism, the  problem with Vincent Bolloré is that he does not like to comply with the rules of good governance.

And  even his peers, the big French bosses blame him. Created in 2013, under the pressure of the French  government, Medef and Afep to extinguish the fire of abusive remuneration  new version of the “Code of Government of listed companies”, was written and a High Council of Corporate Governance (HCGE) was created, charged with enforcing the Code and privately admonishing offenders. According to the Les Jours website, which reveived some confidential stories,  the HCGE President Denis Ranque alleged that Vivendi had explicitly objected to Vincent Bolloré, chairman of a supervisory Board at Vivendi: ” You are more involved as a real executive officer than as the chairman of the supervisory Board responsible for overseeing but not managing the company and its group. “No one needs to see Bolloré in a general assembly to find out who caries the sheriff’s star, who is the operational boss and who specifically calls the managers of the various subsidiaries to tell publically he beautiful story of Vivendi.

Vivendi’s minority shareholders in fact strongly sanctioned the leader maximo for its multiple directorships at listed companies, while he was demanding to be  re-elected for a four-year term at the Supervisory Board: his score was only 82.12% and would have been only 62 to 66% of the AGM  votes without the artifice of the double voting right.

More clearly, the Say on Pay vote for of members of the Executive Board subjected to the iron hand of this authoritarian Bolloré paid the price for this poor governance. The remuneration of the Chairman of the Management Board, Arnaud de Puyfontaine (ie € 3.5 million for 2016) was deemed excessive and did not reach 75% of the votes,  as those of MM. Hervé Philippe (€ 2.4 million) and Stéphane Roussel (€ 2.7 million). Ironically, to accept the constant involvement in the management by the Chairman of the Supervisory Boardwould appears to be the essential contribution of these the Executive Board members…

Without the double voting rights Vivendi could no longer increase its capital.

Two years ago, the Bolloré group held 10.20% of the share capital of Vivendi, ie 138,976,805 shares.

On the day of the general meeting held on April 25, the Bolloré group held at least 20.65% of the share capital (257,689,013 of the 1,247,888,683 shares ) and, thanks to double voting rights 40, 6% of the 975 610 998 votes of the ordinary general meeting.

Several resolutions were passed with less than 75% of the votes ie less than 731,708,248 votes and would have got  60% of the votes without the Bolloré Group’s 138,976,805 double voting rights. They apparently almost all passed, even without the presumed vote of general support of the 200 727 450 double voting rights of which the 15 million double voting rights of the plan of the employees. Resolution 14 appointing Yannick Bolloré only garnered 697,709,447 votes, or only 71.52% of the vote: even without the support of the total of 200 million voting rights double its score “naked” would finally have largely exceeded 387,441 774 votes needed for the threshold of 50% of the votes cast.

But the extraordinary financial resolution to increase the capital with DPS for € 750 million, Resolution No. 21, adopted at 70.1% (691,382,945 votes) with the support of Proxinvest, would undoubtedly not have passed since it would then not have reached the 516,537,373 shares required to reach the 66.7% threshold without the double voting right.

Although this very ambitious financial resolution did not seem to be a problem, Proxinvest insists that double voting rights remained a very perverse protectionnist provision.

 

April 26 2017

Print Friendly
Posted in Compensations, ECGS - Europe @en, General Meetings, Governance-BOD, Legal issues, News @en Tagged with: , ,

Vivendi : un rappel à l’ordre jamais vu de la part des actionnaires minoritaires pour Vincent Bolloré.

L’extraordinaire maîtrise de son groupe par Vincent Bolloré s’est trouvée confortée lors de l’assemblée générale de Vivendi ce 25 avril  par l’adoption  de l’ensemble des résolutions, notamment grâce au droit de vote double et suite aux menaces très contestables prononcées en 2015 par Vivendi à l’encontre des actionnaires étrangers…

Magicien du langage,  grand industriel et grand financier,  Bolloré ne cesse de faire la preuve de son talent. Il ambitionne aussi de réussir ce auquel Jean-Marie Messier avait échoué:  la convergence des contenus et des contenants, l’alliance de la création et des média, créer un groupe français de rayonnement mondial au côté des plus grands américains, tout ceci dans un opportunisme financier troublant mais efficace.

Le problème est que Vincent Bolloré n’aime pas s’appliquer à lui-même les réglés de bonne gouvernance.

Et ce sont même ses pairs, les grands patrons, qui le lui reprochent. Créé en 2013, sous la pression du gouvernement pour éteindre le feu des  rémunérations abusive, le Medef et l’Afep rédigent une nouvelle version du « Code de gouvernement des sociétés cotées », et créent le Haut Conseil du Gouvernement d’Entreprise (HCGE) chargé de faire appliquer ledit code et d’admonester en privé les contrevenants.  Selon le site Les Jours, qui aurait bénéficié d’une indiscrétion,  le président du HCGE Denis Ranque, aurait porté contre Vincent Bolloré, président d’un conseil de surveillance chez Vivendi,  le grief explicite d’immixtion dans la gestion de Vivendi : « Vous intervenez plus comme dirigeant exécutif qu’en tant que président du conseil de surveillance chargé selon la loi de superviser mais non d’assumer la gestion de la société et de son groupe. » Nul n’a besoin de voir Bolloré en assemblée générale pour savoir qui a l’étoile du shérif, qui est le patron opérationnel qui appelle nommément les animateurs des diverses filiales a raconter chacun son tour la belle histoire de Vivendi.

Les actionnaires minoritaires de Vivendi ont en fait fortement sanctionné ce dirigeant cumulant de nombreuses directions de groupes cotés et qui se représentait pour 4 ans au conseil de surveillance : son score n’a été que de 82,12% et il n’eut été que 62 à 66% sans l’artifice du droit de vote double.

Plus nettement, ce sont les rémunérations des membres du Directoire soumise à la main de fer de ce dirigeant autoritaire, qui ont fait les frais de cette critique. La rémunération du président du Directoire, Arnaud de Puyfontaine , soit 3,5 M€ pour 2016  a été jugée excessive et n’a pas atteint 75% des voix tout comme celles des MM. Hervé Philippe (2,4 M€)   et Stéphane Roussel (2,7 M€). Au fond,  la contribution essentielle de ces membres du Directoire ne serait-elle pas d’accepter l’immixtion constance dans la gestion du Directoire par le président du Conseil de Surveillance ?

 

 Sans le droit de vote double Vivendi ne pourrait plus augmenter son capital.

Il y a deux ans le groupe Bolloré détenait 10,20% du capital de Vivendi soit 138 976 805 actions.

Le jour  de l’assemblée générale du 25 avril le groupe Bolloré détenait au moins 20,65% du capital (257 689 013 actions sur  les 1 247 888 683 actions ayant le droit de vote) et, grâce au droit de vote double  40,6%  des 975 610 998 voix exprimées de l’assemblée générale ordinaire (quorum de 62,09% en actions et 66,84% en droit de vote).

Plusieurs résolutions sont passées avec moins de 75% des voix exprimées, soit moins de 731 708 248 voix et ne seraient donc passées qu’avec 60 % des voix sans les 138 976 805  droits de vote double du Groupe Bolloré. Elles seraient apparemment presque toutes passées, même sans le vote présumée de soutien  général des 200 727 450 droits de vote double dont les 15 millions de droit de vote double du plan des salariés . La résolution 14 nommant Yannick Bolloré n’a rassemblé que 697 709 447 voix soit seulement 71,52% des voix: même  sans le soutien  du total des 200 millions de droits de vote double  son score « nu » aurait finalement largement dépassé les 387 441 774 voix nécessaires au seuil de 50% des voix exprimées.

Mais la résolution financière extraordinaire d’augmentation du capital avec DPS pour 750 M.€ , résolution n°21,  adoptée à  70,1 % (691 382 945 voix) avec le soutien de Proxinvest, n’aurait, elle, sans doute pas été adoptée car sans le droit de vote double elle n’aurait pas atteint les 516 537 373 actions requises pour atteindre le seuil de 66,7% des actions.

Quoique cette résolution, certes très ambitieuse,  ne semblait pas poser de problème, Proxinvest consière que droit de vote double demeure un trucage protectionniste bien regrettable.

 

26 avril 2017

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Publié dans Actualités, Assemblées Générales, Gouvernance-BOD, Rémunérations Tagués avec : , , ,